Spring Awakening – The Musical


There are some stories that remain current generation after generation. When the stage play of Spring Awakening was first produced in Germany in 1891 the references to masturbation, abortion, rape and suicide saw it banned. Fast forward 116 years and the musical adaptation scandalised audiences on Broadway. Yes, the behaviour of teenagers has been shocking people for hundreds of years.

This brave new musical … restores the mystery, the thrill and quite a bit of the terror to that shattering transformation that stirs in all our souls sometime around the age of 13.
The New York Times

ATYP and Spring Awakening share a long and intimate past. Many of our best-known alumni have appeared in productions in years gone by, including one of Australia’s most loved musical theatre performers Mitchell Butel. In 2015 we are delighted to welcome Mitchell back to ATYP’s main stage season, this time as director. This production will connect generations of ATYP members like never before.

Let’s see whether audiences in 2016 are still appalled by the revelation that teenagers spend an awful lot of time thinking about sex!

An electrifying fusion of rebellion, sexual awakening and rock and roll.


Cast & Creative Team

Mitchell Butel

Musical Director
Lucy Bermingham

Amy Campbell

Set and Costume
Design Simon Greer

Co-Lighting Design
Damien Cooper

Co-Lighting Design
Ross Graham

Sound Designer
David Bergman

Stage Manager
Lauren Tulloh

Assistant Stage Manager
Courtney Randall

Sound Operator
Lauren Peters

Production Assistant
Sorie Bangura

Assistant Director
Kate Walder

Assistant Designer
Kelsey Lee

Associate Costume Designer
Julia Dray

James Raggatt
Jessica Rookeward
Josh McElroy
Alex Malone
Patrick Diggins
Kate Cheel
Joe Howe
Bardiya McKinnon
Henry Moss
Caitlin Rose Harris
Taylor Howard Anthony
Alexandra Fricot
Julia Dray
Lochie Kent
Julian Kuo
Thomasin Litchfield
Richard Sydenham

Image Credit

Amelia J Dowd

Production Images
Tracey Schramm


MD / Keys
Lucy Bermingham

Keys 2
Oliver Beard

Michael Brady Charlie Sneddon

Catherine Golden Winston Weng

Jesse Ahern Matt Druery

Elisabetta Sonega Sagar Nagaraj

Marlon Schroeder

Hikaru Fuminashi

Past Productions