ATYP Foundation Commissions

A canon of new work for young performers.

The ATYP Foundation was established in 2003. Its role is to create and maintain a capital fund that can ensure ATYP’s future and enable it to reach many more young Australians.

The ATYP Foundation Commission recognises that tens of thousands of young people aged between 10 and 17 participate in drama activities in Australia every year. Despite this, very few scripts are commissioned and professionally developed for large casts of performers exclusively within this age range. The ATYP Foundation is generating a body of new work to engage and excite young artists and audiences across the country for years to come.

The ATYP Foundation Commission is proudly supported by Playlab Theatre, a national organisation based in Brisbane that seeks to challenge perspectives of Australian culture through Australian theatre. Uniquely, Playlab Theatre does this through developing, publishing and producing new Australian theatre with playwrights at the centre of the creative process.

Announcing the 2023 ATYP Foundation Commission winners!

Winner of Senior Foundation Commission – Flicker Flicker Glow (14-17 years)

Amy May Nunn is an award-winning writer and theatre-maker, living in Naarm and originally from the UK. They are a graduate of the full-time program at 16th St Actors Studio and completed their MA in Writing for Performance at VCA. Amy’s work has been featured in numerous publications, including Voiceworks, Verandah, Metre Maids and Award-Winning Australian Writing. They are a two-time recipient of the Mathew Rocca Award for poetry, winner of the Express Media Award and the John Marsden Prize. They have been nominated for the Rodney Seaborn Playwrights Award, the ATYP Foundation Commission (2022), and they were an inaugural recipient of the Gasworks Arts Park Event Commission. Amy is the co-founder and artistic director of Dirty Pennies Theatre Project, a company dedicated to fostering and developing new work with women, queer, trans and gender non-conforming artists. They are a recent participant in the Midsumma Pathways Program, a member of the She Writes Collective and an Associate Artist alum at Theatre Works. Their latest play, ‘Lemon Tree on Dreg Street’, premiered at Theatre Works as part of Midsumma Festival (2023).  

Winner of Junior Foundation Commission – The Racket (10-13 years)

Michael Louis Kennedy is a playwright and author based in Sydney; a current member of Sydney Theatre Company’s Emerging Writers Group and an alumnus of Australian Theatre for Young People’s Fresh Ink Program. Recent works include The Clam Before The Storm as part of Acqua Profonda (Bondi Festival 2022), All The Fraudulent Horse Girls (The Glory London with Brooklyn Rep 2022 | The Blue Room, Perth with Lazy Yarns 2023), and All That Glitters Is Not Mould (NIDA 2022). He has previously worked for the Sydney Fringe, Summerhall (Edinburgh Fringe) and Belvoir Street Theatre. His work has been featured in Overland, Voiceworks, Brag, Going Down Swinging, Transportation Press, Baby Teeth, and more. As a playwright he has had work in the Sydney Fringe, Old 505, Sydney Mardi Gras’s Playlist playreading festival, and Queer Theory in Glasgow, Scotland.

Application details

Two Foundation Commissions, one for 10-13-year-old performers and one for 14-17-year-old performers, are awarded each year to playwrights of any age. Both plays are published by our partners Playlab.

ATYP Foundation Commissions recognise great ideas from playwrights of all levels of experience from around the country. We’re looking for script outlines that embrace the age of the performers and give young actors something substantial to sink their teeth into. ATYP will work closely with you to develop the scripts from concept to completion. The ATYP Foundation Commissions are developing a canon of sophisticated works for young actors that will be performed in theatres and schools around the country for many years to come.

Applications are assessed by a panel of young people alongside representatives of ATYP, the ATYP Foundation and Playlab.