Thespo Festival

A barrier-breaking partnership.

ATYP is excited to be collaborating with Thespo (India) to invite young artists aged 18-25 to participate in a digital cross-cultural exchange. We are looking for emerging playwrights, performers and dramaturgs interested in collaborating with Indian artists. They will work together to create short 5-minute plays to be showcased at Thespo’s Digital Festival in December 2021. Selected participants will be offered mentorship and masterclasses during the two-week creative development period.

Join us for the Thespo Festival Showcase!

The cross-cultural creative teams have created 10 short plays by young artists in this exciting digital exchange. These 5-minute plays will be showcased by Australian and Indian actors at Thespo’s Digital Festival on Thursday, 16 December at 8:30PM AEDT.

Join us via YouTube at this free event to celebrate these brand new works! There will be a post-show Q&A session with the artists to discuss their experience developing these pieces.

Key info

  • We are looking for emerging playwrights, performers and dramaturgs interested in collaborating with Indian artists
  • Writers will create a 5-minute play to be performed live online at Thespo’s Digital Festival in December 2021 with young performers from India. 
  • Performers will be linked up with Indian playwrights to perform their works at the festival.
  • Dramaturgs will work with the playwrights and performers on their pieces
  • Masterclasses will be offered in writing and performing to help support the process. 
  • This is an unpaid opportunity for emerging talent to connect with other young artists across Australia and India to develop their craft.  
  • No prior experience necessary.

Key dates

  • 1 OCTOBER: Applications open
  • 19 OCTOBER: Applications close
  • 10–24 NOVEMBER: Creative development period (part-time, Mon-Fri)
  • 16 DECEMBER: Online performance showcase in Thespo’s Digital Festival


2021 Participants

  • Alan Fang (Sydney)

  • Lucy Heathcote (Brisbane)

  • Maxwell Tassell (Melbourne)

  • Sarah Carroll (Sydney)

  • Victoria Georges (Sydney)

  • Ashleigh Rose Mun Yee (Sydney)

  • Claire Holland (Canberra)

  • Egan Sun-Bin (Brisbane)

  • Riley Spadaro (Sydney)

  • Sarah Maguire (Sydney)

  • Kate Wooden (Sydney)

  • Theodore Carroll (Sydney)

  • Tahlia Merlino (Sydney)

  • Tamara Lee Bailey (Sydney)

  • Taylor Reece (Melbourne)

  • Shalvi Singh (Sydney)

  • Giani Leon Fenech (Sydney)

  • Mym Kwa (Sydney)