ATYP Foundation


Launched in 2003 as part of the 40th birthday celebrations, the ATYP Foundation was created to develop and manage a capital fund that will ensure the theatre company’s future and enable it to continue to raise the national expectation of what theatre with young people can achieve.

In 2010, the Foundation launched a program to commission new works to be performed by young people. In 2012, the ATYP Foundation Commission Award was established to build a canon of new works specifically for young people aged 10-13 years. This extremely successful initiative has seen seventeen new works written or adapted for the stage. All plays have been published by Playlab and performed by many schools, nationwide. In 2016, the Foundation created a new yearly commission for 14-17 year-old performers.

2021 saw the ATYP Foundation Commission temporarily paused, so we are excited to see it return in 2022. The ongoing support of the ATYP Foundation has been instrumental in achieving a purpose-built theatre for young people at the Walsh Bay Arts Precinct and we are especially grateful to the Foundation for their commitment to support the 2022 and 2023 seasons as Principal Production Partner.

Learn more about ATYP Foundation Commission, and how to apply here. 

Since 2011 the ATYP Foundation has supported the development of

Become a pillar of support for ATYP by making a donation to the ATYP Foundation

Your generous gift will be an investment to strengthen the company and its productions in every way: the quality of productions, development of new work, the development of the next generation of artists and the expansion of our educational and outreach programs. All donations are overseen by the Foundation committee.

You can donate to the Foundation here

* Please note ATYP does not accept American Express.

We gratefully acknowledge the ATYP Foundation’s Founding donors:

  • Robert O. Albert AO, RFD, RD
  • Antoinette Albert
  • Albert Investments
  • Andrew Thyne Reid Trust
  • Anonymous
  • Miles Armstrong
  • Ruth Armytage AM
  • Felicity Atanaskovic
  • Angela Bowne SC
  • Jillian Broadbent AO
  • Ian Brown
  • Hilary Caldwell
  • Michael Carapiet
  • Phil Costa
  • Dixie Coulton
    & Donald Grieve
  • Richard Cropley
  • Chum and Belinda Darvall
  • Francis Douglas QC
    & Dr Lisa Cantamessa
  • Achim & Anthea Drescher
  • Estate of the Late Nicholas Enright
  • Carolyn Fletcher AC
  • Hal Herron
  • Mark Hopkinson
    & Michelle Opie
  • Michael Ihlein
    & Gosia Dobrowolska
  • Christopher Johnson
  • Judith Joye
  • John King
  • Dr Ann Lewis AO
  • Macquarie Group Foundation
  • Mallesons Stephen Jaques
  • Millenium Pty Limited
  • Raymond Nelson
  • Dr Helen Nugent
  • James O’Loghlin
  • Glynn O’Neill
  • Robert & the late Helen Rich
  • Frances Roberts
  • Ezekiel Solomon AM
  • Josephine Walton
  • Sarah Whyte
  • Jane & Pat Wilde
  • Jill Wran
  • Yengarie Pty Ltd
  • Ross Youngman
    & Veronica Espaliat
  • David Zobel & Emma Lee